7 Layer Dip

I remember this one from my childhood. Mom used to make something similar for parties and get-togethers. It has a great layer of flavors and can be put together with pantry ingredients or you can go wild and make items from scratch. Either way this one is always a favorite among family and friends. I ended up making this dish the same day I made my Mexican pizzas because they share a lot of ingredients and I was able to cut down on a lot of waste.  

What you will need: 7 Layer Dip

  • 1 Can refried Bean (I like to caveman them up a little)
  • 10oz Sour Cream Dressing (See below)
  • 15oz Can Black Beans (rinsed well)
  • 2 tbsp. Taco Seasoning (can use packaged or see my recipe included with my Mexican Pizza)
  • 7oz Guacamole (I prefer Wholly Guacamole if store bought)
  • 5oz Can Green Chili’s diced
  • 2 Cups Salsa
  • 8oz Shredded Cheese (I prefer the 4 cheese Mexican blend)
  • 2 Cup Shredded Lettuce
  • 1 Tomato Chopped
  • Hot Sauce
  • 1 Red Onion Chopped
  • ¼ Cup Sliced Olives
  • 1 Jalapeno Sliced Thin (optional)

 Prep

Refried Beans: I like to caveman up the beans a little, it’s just how I prefer them. In a small pan at low heat add your refried beans, 10oz can Rotell tomatoes, 2 tbsp. salsa, 1/3 cup chopped onion, 2 tbsp. cayenne, 1 tbsp. cumin and 2 baby bell peppers chopped. Simmer under low heat until warm and then pull them off the heat and let them rest covered until you are ready to use them.

Sour Cream Mixture: Add 2 tbsp. of the taco seasoning and the diced green chili to the 10oz tub of sour cream and mix well. Store it in the fridge until you are ready to use.

Assembly

Start with a 9” x 9” shallow baking dish.

 **Caveman Tip: I tend to be a little heavy handed with the ingredients and make my layers a bit too thick. If you do that you will run out of room for ingredients when you get to the end. So keep the layers thin.

Using a flexible spatula add a thin layer of the following ingredients in order.

  • Refried Beans
  • 1/3 of the shredded cheeseO
  • Sour cream mixtures
  • Black beans
  • The next layer is the difficult one; carefully add a layer of the guacamole over the black beans. If it’s too hard to work with try thinning it out with a little salsa.
  • Salsa
  • 1/3 of the shredded cheese
  • Shredded lettuce
  • Garnish with red onion, black olives, tomatoes, jalapenos and remaining cheese.

Now you will just need to cover it tightly with plastic wrap and store in the fridge for an hour or two until you are ready to eat.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

